email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

USTA Southern Announces 2010 Annual Award Recipients

November 23, 2010 04:45 PM
USTA Southern has announced its recipients for the 2010 awards given for tennis excellence on and off the court. With over 25 categories recognized, winners will be honored during the USTA Southern Annual Meeting in January at the Atlanta Perimeter Marriott Hotel in Atlanta, Ga. The awards presentation is scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 22, 2011.
Volunteer members of the Awards Committee and numerous other USTA Southern committees have selected winners from candidates nominated by USTA district staff and volunteers in the nine states which represent the section.
Winners of two of the most prestigious awards – the Jacobs Bowl and the Charlie B. Morris Jr. Service Award – will not be announced until the Southern Tennis Hall of Fame banquet on the evening of Saturday, Jan. 22.
Here are our 2010 USTA Southern award winners:
Adult Tournament of the Year: LATA Sunburn Open; Lexington, S.C.
Bill Ozaki Junior Sportsmanship Award: Molly O’Koniewski; Hilton Head Island, S.C.
DeWitt Redgrave III Junior Achievement Awards: Maxx Lipman, Nashville, Tenn. & Whitney Kay, Alpharetta, Ga.
Educational Merit Award: Phyllis Greene, After School Tennis & Education Program; Savannah, Ga.
Gerrie Rothwell Award: B.J. Johnson; Metairie, La.
Jr. Team Tennis Organizer of the Year: Julie Dick, Georgetown Tennis Assoc.; Georgetown, Ky.
Junior Tournament of the Year: Olde Forest Junior Open; Elon College, N.C.
Local League Coordinator of the Year: Paul Fultz; Bartlett, Tenn.
Marc Kaplan Media Excellence Award: Mike Saia, Family Circle Tennis Center; Charleston, S.C.
Marilyn Sherman Spirit Award: Mary Goins; Easley, S.C.
Member Organization of the Year: Olde Providence Racquet Club; Charlotte, N.C.
Mickey McNulty Family of the Year: The John Illges IV Family; Columbus, Ga.
NJTL Chapter of the Year: Atlanta Youth Tennis Foundation; Atlanta, Ga.
Slew Hester Male & Female Players of the Year: Joe Roberts; Greenville, S.C. & Burnett Herrick; Tarboro, N.C.
Southern Tennis Professional of the Year: Shane Wells, North Hills Club; Raleigh, N.C.
Special Tennis Event of the Year: St. Vincent Auxiliary Tour de Paul; Little Rock, Ark.
Team Tennis Event of the Year: USTA Southern Jr. Team Tennis Section Championships; Scott Novak, Mobile, Ala.
Tennis Official of the Year: Lee France, Cypress Hills Tennis Club; Greenville, Miss.
Tennis on Campus Club of the Year: University of Tennessee; Knoxville, Tenn.
Tennis on Campus Leader of the Year: Melissa Argo, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; Charlotte, N.C.
Wheelchair Player of the Year: Bob Masella; Columbia, S.C.
Wheelchair Tournament of the Year: The Geranium Festival; McDonough, Ga.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup