Two From USTA Southern Win Arthur Ashe Contest

August 19, 2010 06:03 PM
Two youngsters from USTA Southern were selected as national winners of the 2010 NJTL Arthur Ashe Essay and Art Contest and will receive an all-expense paid weekend to attend Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day and other exciting cultural events in New York City.
Writers of the winning essays are Daniel Stewart, of the Birmingham (Ala.) Area Tennis Association, in the boys’ 10-year-old division, and Grace Trimble, of the LTC Smart Shots, Lexington, Ky. in the girls’ 17 & 18 division.
Seven other contestants were named winners from the nine USTA Southern states: Shivani Ananthasekar, City of Mobile (Ala.) Lyons Park NJTL; Jazmine Lawson, MACH Academy NJTL, Augusta, Ga.; William Reed, Rising Stars of Kentucky, Louisville; Jaslyn Barrow, Four Aces NJTL, Greenville, Miss.; Malcolm Baskett, NJTL of Raleigh, N.C.; Mi’Kola Cooper, Courting Kids NJTL, Charleston, S.C. and Maya Smith, Tennis Memphis (Tenn.). These winners will also enjoy an all-expense paid trips to New York sponsored by USTA state associations in the section, the Southern Tennis Patrons Foundation and USTA Southern.
The contest commemorates the spirit and humanitarian work of the late, great Arthur Ashe by asking NJTL participants (18 years old and under) to learn about him and then respond by writing an essay or submitting artwork answering the question: "How do you exemplify the ideals of Arthur Ashe?" Youngsters also had the opportunity to submit artwork instead of writing an essay but were not eligible for the national grand prizes.
A highlight of the trip is to attend the Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day Saturday, August 28, at the site of the US Open, the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. The event mixes hot music with lively exhibition tennis. Performing will be the Jonas Brothers, Demi Lovato, David Archuleta, Shonetelle, Allstar Weekend, School Gyrls and the Bryan Brothers Band featuring David Baron. Showing off their hot shots on the court will be Top 10 players Andy Roddick, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and defending champion Kim Clijsters.