email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Santorum Honored By ITF For 'Services To The Game'

September 14, 2010 10:10 AM
From left: USTA Chairman of the Board and President Lucy Garvin, PTR CEO Dan Santorum, ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti and USTA Awards Committee Chair Carolyn Riley.
USTA Chairman of the Board and President Lucy Garvin, Judy Utley and USTA Awards Committee Carolyn Riley.
Dan Santorum, CEO of the US Professional Tennis Registry, was among 12 tennis notables who received Awards for Services to the Game from the International Tennis Federation.
Over 260 delegates, partners and staff attended the ITF’s 2010 Annual General Meeting this week, held at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington, DC and hosted by the USTA.
The eleven other Awards for Services to the Game approved by the AGM, went to Larisa Savchenko (LAT), Ai Sugiyama (JPN), Dr. Raymond Forde (BAR), Chuka Momah (NGR), Henrik Klitvad (DEN), Dr. John Fraser OAM (AUS), David Howman (NZL), Franz Liautaud (HAI), Tian Tian Sun (CHN), Rene Collins (CAN) and Louis Cayer(CAN), a special nomination by the Coaches Commission.
Forde, Santorum and Liautaud were on hand in Washington and received their awards from the ITF President during the ITF/Davis Cup Winner’s Gala Dinner, co-hosted by the ITF and Spanish Tennis Federation at the Donald W. Reynolds Center on Wednesday evening.
Utley Receives USTA Award
Also honored at the gathering was former USTA President Judy Utley who receive the 2009 Barbara Williams Leadership Award.
The Barbara Williams Leadership Award was established in 2003 to honor the late Barbara Williams, a long-time USTA volunteer who gave unselfishly of her time and energy to promote the sport of tennis.  This award recognizes a female volunteer who through her leadership and by her example has encouraged and inspired others to become volunteers and assume leadership roles at the community, sectional, and/or national levels of the United States Tennis Association. Click here for more information.
"The USTA and, in particular, its President Lucy Garvin were wonderful hosts and the organisation of this year’s AGM was perfect," said ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.
"Everyone who had the opportunity to participate in this year’s AGM was grateful for the support and hospitality of the USTA."
The AGM was officially opened by Adrian Fenty, Mayor of Washington DC, who welcomed the delegates to the city and thanked both the ITF and USTA for choosing Washington as the venue for this year’s meeting.
Important initiatives approved by the ITF membership included passage of a rule change for all 10-and-under competition that will mandate modified courts and the use of slower balls as part of the ITF’s Tennis 10s campaign. The purpose of this change is to increase participation among the ten-and-under age group as part of the wider "Tennis… Play and Stay Initiative."



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup