email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

RSI Names USTA Southern As USTA Section of the Year

December 14, 2010 05:43 PM
 USTA Southern was named 2010 U.S. Tennis Association Section of the Year by Racquet Sports Industry magazine in the publication’s January 2011 issue. Two members of USTA Southern along with a Southern CTA and facility also were honored. They are listed in bold below.
Here is the link to read the magazine’s digital edition, which contains articles about the award winners.
Jon Muir, the president of the Tennis Industry Association and the worldwide general manager of Wilson Racquet Sports, has been named 2010 "Person of the Year." Muir led off the magazine’s 10th annual "Champions of Tennis Awards," which honors people, companies and organizations dedicated to improving the sport and business of tennis.
RSI (http://www.racquetsportsindustry.com), the world’s largest magazine geared toward the tennis industry, also named winners in 16 other categories for its 2010 Champions of Tennis Awards:
* U.S. Tennis Association Section of the Year: USTA Southern
* Community Tennis Association of the Year: Southern Crescent Tennis Association, Georgia (serving Fayette, Coweta, Henry, Clayton and Spalding counties)
* Municipal Facility of the Year: Copeland-Cox Tennis Center, Mobile, Ala.
* Tennis Advocate of the Year: Robin Jones, Cary, N.C.
* Wheelchair Tennis Champion of the Year: Harlon Matthews, Athens, Ga.
* Private Facility of the Year: The Polo Club, Boca Raton, Fla.
* Stringer of the Year: Tom Parry, Bradenton, Fla.
* Builder/Contractor of the Year: Pro-Sport Construction, Devon, Pa.
* Sales Rep of the Year: Rick Walsh, Kansas City, Kan.
* Pro/Specialty Retailer of the Year: NYC Racquet Sports, New York, N.Y.
* Junior Tennis Champions of the Year: Butch Staples & Leah Friedman, Chicago, Ill.
* Grassroots Champion of the Year: Robert Pangrazi, Tempe, Ariz.
* Public Park of the Year: Dwight Davis Tennis Center, St. Louis., Mo.
* Professional Tennis Registry Member of the Year: Rodney Harmon, Jackson, Fla.
* U.S. Professional Tennis Association Member of the Year: Ron Woods, Corpus Christie, Texas
* High School Coach of the Year: Bill Wagstaff, Spokane, Wash.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup