email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

McNulty Elected USTA Southern President

October 15, 2010 05:26 PM
Mike McNulty
James "Bud" Spencer
Paula Hale
Randy Jackson
Randy Jackson
Derek White
USTA Southern announced Mike McNulty, of Lake Charles, La., has been elected USTA Southern Board of Directors President and CEO for the 2011-2012 term by the USTA Southern Board of Directors. McNulty had served as the USTA Southern Board of Directors Executive Vice President for the two previous years.
USTA Southern Board of Directors Secretary James "Bud" Spencer, of Mt. Pleasant, S.C., was elected to the post of Executive Vice President for the same term.
The board for the 2011-2012 term was elected at the 2011 USTA Southern Annual Meeting in Atlanta January 21. McNulty heads the largest of the USTA's 17 Sections, representing 25 percent of the national membership in nine states.
McNulty was Executive Vice President and a member of the USTA Constitution and Rules Committee. He has served as President of USTA Louisiana, USTA Southern Vice President and Delegate At Large, as well as Chairman of the USTA Southern Constitution and Rules Committee. Presented USTA Louisiana’s President’s Award, he was also named "One of the Best Lawyers in America." After his family was honored as the USTA Louisiana Family of the Year, they were given a similar award by USTA Southern – the Mickey McNulty Family of the Year Award – which was named for McNulty's father, a former sectional Vice President.
Spencer served as USTA League Committee Vice Chairman. Spencer served as USTA South Carolina President and Chairman of the Board in 2004 and 2005. He has been a member of the USTA Southern Board of Directors since 2000 and has been active for over 15 years from the local to the national levels. He is a past Chairman of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation, a charitable association that supports the sport of tennis in the state.
Rex Maynard was elected USTA Delegate At Large following two years as president and CEO. He has served as a volunteer at the local, state, sectional and national levels. He is currently President of the Belton Tennis Association and has served as Tournament Director of the Wachovia Palmetto Championships (South Carolina's junior qualifying tournament held in Belton each June) since 1980. He was President of USTA South Carolina from 1994 to 1995. Maynard is a former Chairman and current Treasurer of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation. In 1982 he helped establish the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame and was inducted into the hall in 2001. He is a former recipient of the Lucy Garvin Volunteer of the Year Award, the state's highest volunteer honor.
Elected as USTA Southern Vice Presidents were Paula Hale, of Raleigh, N.C.; Randy Jackson, of Fort Smith, Ark., and Derek White, of Savannah, Ga.
Hale also serves as Chairman of the USTA National Community Tennis Association Committee and as a Trustee of the Southern Patrons Foundation. She is a past President of USTA North Carolina and the North Carolina Tennis Foundation and former chair of the USTA Southern State Presidents Committee. She was honored in 2005 with USTA Southern's Jacobs Bowl Award.
Jackson serves as a USTA Southern Delegate At Large, a USTA Jr. Team Tennis Committee member and USTA Southern Jr. Team Tennis Committee Chairman. He has served as USTA Arkansas President, Southern State Presidents Group Chairman and on the USTA Southern Awards Subcommittee.
White currently serves as a member of the USTA Grievance Committee. White is a former President of the Macon Tennis Association and USTA Southern Delegate At Large. He has served as the Chairman of the USTA Southern Grievance Committee, a member of USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations and as USTA Southern’s representative for the USTA Operations Council.
John Liles, of Shreveport, La., was re-elected as USTA Southern Treasurer. He chairs the USTA Southern Finance and Budget Review Committee and was the chair of the Section’s Adult/Senior Recreation Programs. A member of the USTA Awards Committee, Secretary/Treasurer of Southern Tennis Patron Foundation and Treasurer of the Northwest Louisiana Community Tennis Association, Liles is also certified as a Sectional referee.
Andy Andrews, of Raleigh, N.C., was electedas Secretary. He serves as a Delegate At Large. For the last four years, he has served as USTA Southern Marketing Committee Chairman. He also serves as a member of the USTA Collegiate Varsity Committee.
Elected for the post of USTA Southern Delegate At Large were Bob Goodsell, of Unicoi, Tenn.; Pat Guerry, of Marietta, Ga.; Eleanora Mauritson, of Fairhope, Ala., and Bonnie Vandegrift, of Asheville, N.C.
Elected to the USTA Southern Section Nominating Committee were Maynard (as chair); Sheila Evans, of Atlanta; Susan Habeeb, of Louisville, Ky., Whit Rayner, of Madison, Miss. and Judy Utley, of Greensboro, N.C.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup