email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


2017-18 Junior Division Committees


Coaches Commission:

The USTA Southern Coaches Commission oversees Player Development activities within USTA Southern including the USTA Regional Training Center program, Early Development Camps (EDC), Section Camps and USTA High Performance coaches education.  The Coaches Commission is the contact link with USTA Player Development/High Performance.   

Shane Wells - Chairman
Sam Kennedy - Vice Chairman
Meg Bandy
Bruce Hawtin
Bryan Minton 
Brian Parkkonen    
Randy Pate 
David Poole
Walker Sahag
Courtney Ulrich
Grady Wilson
Bill Ozaki & Maria Cercone - Staff

Junior Team Tennis Committee:

The USTA Southern Junior Team Tennis Committee is responsible for: 1) Promotion and growth efforts of JTT; 2) Review and approval of regulations; 3) Selection of championship sites; 4) Review and approval of grant applications; 5) Selection of the Organizer of the Year.

Mary Hatfield - Chairman 
Maria Mood-Brown - Chairman
Randy Jackson - BL
Geoff Norton - ED
Aaron Browning
Ashlyn Cousins
Nathan Echols
Bo Gard
Leslie Jackson
Timothy Shoptaugh
Jessica Harrell - Staff 

10 & Under Subc.

Maria Mood-Brown - Chair
Nathan Echols
Vanita Mattix
Russell Morris
Eric Schmook
Jessica Harrell - Staff

Junior Competition Committee:

The USTA Southern Junior Competition Committee is responsible for: 1) Studying all junior tournament activities and making recommendations on all policies and programs relating to junior tennis; 2) Developing uniform guidelines for the ranking of junior players; 3) Coordination of special events relating to junior tennis; 4) Organization of  USTA Southern Junior Intersectional Teams and  Icy Hot Southern Junior Cup Championships; 5) Managing the Junior waiver program; 6) Solicitation of sites for USTA and USTA Southern Junior Championships;  7) Coordinating and posting endorsement lists when required for USTA National events  8) Communicating collegiate varsity play opportunities to juniors.

Jonathan Barth - Chairman
Sandy Hastings - Vice Chairman
Brett Schwartz - BL
Kelly Gaines - ED
Beth Bush
Derrick Davison
Sean Ferreira
Robert Garrett
Robert Sasseville
Debbie Southern
Lauren Wilson
Ray Sahag
Steve Zalinski
Maria Cercone - Staff

10 & Under Subc.

Chad Oxendine - Chair
Jorge Andrew
Gary Jones
Raphael Rodrigues
Maria Cercone - Staff 

Collegiate Opportunity Subc.

Carlos Lozano  - Chair
John Bethune
Warren Bryan
Robert Daigle
Jeff Smith - Staff

Jr. Points System/Ranking Subc.

Sandy Hastings - Chair
Theresa Hendrix 
Maria Cercone - Staff

Jr. S&S Subc.

William Lindsay - Chair
Beth Bush
Robert Garrett
Daniel Porea
Bobby Walker
Maria Cercone - Staff

Jr. Waiver Subc.

Lauren Wilson - Chair
Sean Ferreira
Robert Sasseville
Maria Cercone - Staff

Team Selection Subc.

Alex Rucker - Chair
Karen Badger-Mabry
Derrick Davison
Maria Cercone - Staff

Schools/After School Committee:

The Schools/After School Committee is responsible for the promotion and development of strategies aimed at increasing tennis in Physical Education classes, Kids Tennis Clubs and other after school programs, including High School tennis.

Christy Herring - Chairman
Rosanne Boswell - Vice Chairman
Marcy Hirshberg - BL
Jason Miller - ED
Pat Devoto
Michael Eden
Christy Herring
Laura Huss
Mechelle Taylor
Richard Wilson
Jeff Smith - Staff

High School Subc.

Bernie McGuire - Chair
Linda Cannon
Calvin Davis
Michael Eden
Debbie Southern
Mechelle Taylor
Shaun Wiseman 
Jeff Smith - Staff


The USTA Southern NJTL is responsible for serving as a resource to the network of NJTL chapters and programs by supporting efforts to provide a pathway aimed at growing the number of tennis, life skills and educational opportunities for underserved youth.  Special emphasis is placed on the USTA Foundation NJTL Essay Contest, the ACE (Academic Creative Engagement) Curriculum and the Regional Leadership Camp.

Rudy Lewis - Chair
Alex Chang
Lance Hickman
Kerensa Perkins
Cee Jai Jones - Staff

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share