email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


2019-20 Community Tennis Division Committees

Community Development Committee:

The USTA Southern Community Development Committee is responsible for: 1) the promotion and development of USTA Southern Community Tennis Associations and related services (education of local leaders, and networking); 2) Providing advice service and guidance to states and communities in relation to advocacy, facility development, grants, parks, and Tennis Ambassadors; 3) Partnering with the Schools Committee.

Jeff Joyce - Chair
Mark Botsch - Vice Chair
Ted Reese - Board Liaison
Jennifer Gregg - ED Liaison
Andrew Feldman - Staff Liaison
Robert Browning
Alfie Cheng
Pat Devoto
Michelle Fuller
Jane Gamble
Mary Henderson
Ernie James
Robin Jones
Scott Laakso
Karen MacFarland
Karen Newman Morgan
Kami Tucker
Robert Walker

Diversity & Inclusion Committee:

The USTA Southern Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) Committee is responsible for: 1) Growing the game through support and engagement with State and CTA boards, committees, and their staffs with strategic D&I initiatives such as: Increasing representation of emerging market populations on boards, committees and staff to attract and retain USTA members and players from those populations; building effective, self-sustaining State and CTA D&I Committees; 2) Working with other Southern committees to develop program awareness, new initiatives and program continuity, which will substantially grow emerging market population participation in all USTA Southern programs and activities; 3) Special emphasis on Hispanic Engagement and the Millennial population.

Len Rothman - Chair
Jimmie Coins -  Vice Chair
Beth Hopkins - Board Liaison
Diana Beauregard - ED Liaison
Cee Jai Jones - Staff Liaison
James Baker
Annette Butler
Bettina Byrd-Giles
Oscar De Leon
Deborah Foster-Smith
Manny Guillen
Roberta Hadley
Sam Jackson
Eduardo Rincon
Kimberly Salama
Craig Wells

Special Pops / Adaptive Committee:

The Special Pops / Adaptive Committee serves the mission to provide all populations including those with intellectual and/or physical disabilities the opportunity to participate in all aspects of the game of tennis. The goal is to promote and develop recreational tennis opportunities for individuals through inclusion and support by providing programming, equipment, and teaching techniques.

Jim Hamm - Chair
Jack Barker - Vice Chair
Marcy Hirshberg - Board Liaison
Geoff Norton - ED Liaison
Cee Jai Jones - Staff Liaison 
Michael Hurley
Jessie Taliaferro
Lou Welch
Jessica Weyreuter

Tennis Officials Committee:

The USTA Southern Tennis Officials Committee is responsible for: 1) Solicitation of prospective umpires and referees; 2) Teaching, training and developing umpires and referees through online courses and in-person workshops; 3) Recommending qualified directors/referees that can give assistance to tournaments upon request; 4) Development of materials and information that might be helpful to tournament directors relating to tournament draws, scheduling and other related areas; 5) Making recommendations for awards to the USTA and USTA Southern.

Cheryl Helton - Chair
Donna Mille-Williams - Vice Chair
Bill McGugin - Board Liaison
Darren Potkey - ED Liaison
Ron Cioffi - Staff Liaison
Karen Badger-Mabry
Donna Bailey
Brenda Emery
Meg Farrelly
Tommy Magruder
Cleon McKnight
Scotty Moore

Wheelchair Tennis Committee:

The Wheelchair Tennis Committee promotes wheelchair tennis by 1) supporting clinics, camps, instructional programs, tournaments, and collegiate wheelchair tennis; 2) promoting the Southern Section Wheelchair Tennis Excellence Award; and 3) assisting with coordinating the Southern Section Wheelchair Tournaments.

Jennifer Edmonson - Chair
Evan Enquist - Vice Chair
Drew Meyers - Board Liaison
Geoff Norton - ED Liaison
Cee Jai Jones - Staff Liaison
Ann Hortman
Robert Popelka
Robbie Sullivan
Taylor Wingate

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share