email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

UGA Wins 2006 USTA Team Tennis Southern Campus Championship

March 28, 2006 10:27 AM

The University of Georgia defeated Georgia Tech in the finals of the 2006 USTA Team Tennis Southern Campus Championship by a score of 28 games to 27. The tournament took place at the Champions Club in Chattanooga, TN, and was comprised of the top collegiate club teams in the USTA Southern Section.

University of Georgia captain Jason Burkett was quick to compliment his team and the tournament, "We are very pleased to have won the tournament. We fought hard to win every point possible. The tournament itself was also great. The amount of teams from last year grew, the facilities were great, and everything was prepared and on schedule."

For reaching the finals, both the University of Georgia and Georgia Tech will be given an invitation to compete in the USTA Team Tennis National Campus Championships which will be played April 20-22 at the University of Texas at Austin.


In the third place playoff match, Furman University defeated Clemson University 30-28.

In just its second year the Southern Campus Championship has grown significantly, as 19 teams representing 16 schools participated in this year’s event. In last year’s inaugural tournament only seven teams from six schools competed.

Click here to view 2006 USTA Southern Campus Championships results.

The following list shows standings of how each school performed in the tournament:
1) Georgia
2) Georgia Tech
3) Furman(A)
4) Clemson
5) North Carolina
6) Vanderbilt
7) College of Charleston
8) UT-Chattanooga
9) Georgia Southern(A)
10) UNC-Wilmington(A)
11) East Tennessee State
12) UNC-Charlotte
13) Emory
14) UNC-Wilmington(B)
15) UNC-Greensboro(B)
16) Middle Tennessee State
17) Georgia Southern(B)
18) Furman(B)
19) Alabama




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup