email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


North Carolina Dominates USTA Tennis On Campus Southern Championship

February 27, 2012 06:52 PM
Eight teams competing in the 2012 USTA Tennis on Campus Southern Championship in Auburn, Ala. Feb. 26 have earned bids to the 2012 USTA Tennis on Campus National Championship.
North Carolina’s "A" team won the championship by defeating Alabama. North Carolina’s "B" team defeated Elon in the Non-BCS division but did not receive a national bid because only one team can receive a bid from the same college or university.
The following teams received national bids based on their finish in the competition this weekend:
• North Carolina: champion. Captain: Travis Sandman
• Alabama: finalist. Captain: JP McLemore
• Tulane: third. Captain: Sally Ness
• LSU: fourth. Captain: Nicolas Lucidi
• Duke earned a bid by finishing second in the 2011 Tennis On Campus Fall Invitational Tournament in Hilton Head Island, S.C. It also finished fifth in this championship. Captain: Stephanie Dudzinski
• Davidson: sixth. Captain: Mark Angel
• Elon: second in Non-BCS division. Captain: Ian MacInnes
Additional bid
• University of South Carolina earned a bid by being named USTA Southern Tennis on Campus Club of the Year. Captain: Sukhi Guram
The Southern tournament hosted 48 club teams and about 380 players from throughout the nine USTA Southern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. One team – Texas A & M Texarkana – competed because it is located in a small portion of Texas that in the Southern Section.
The championship was played at three sites Feb. 25-26, with the Yarbrough Tennis Center acting as the main site.
A minimum of two male and two female players play on club teams. Some schools had "A" and "B" teams competing. Each team can have no more than one former varsity player on its squad.
The 2012 national tournament is scheduled for April 12-14 in Cary, N.C. Cary Tennis Park is the host site.
Clemson's teams cheer: Watch video.
Staff welcomes captains! Watch video.
New team unique in two ways. Read story.
Turning the media tables. Read story.
Tennis sites with online map links
Follow us on Twitter for announcements and other chapionships news.
Entry Fee: $160 per team - make checks payable to USTA Southern Section.
Draw: The first 16 teams that enter each draw by the deadline will be guaranteed a spot in that draw (see info below regarding the 2 draws). "B" teams are encouraged to enter. Please send your team’s completed entry form and $160 check made payable to USTA Southern to: Jeff Smith, 204 Ridgefield Drive, Bossier City, LA 71111 in time for it to be received no later than February 3.
Amenities: All players will receive a T-Shirt and awards will be given to the top 2 teams in each draw. Lunch will be provided for all players on Saturday and Sunday.
Tournament Format: World Team Tennis collegiate format will be used – All teams are encouraged to visit wtt.com and click on "Collegiate" under the "Local Leagues and Tournaments" tab. For a complete explanation of the World Team Tennis Collegiate rules, click on "Scorecard" located on the right side of the page and see page 2.
BCS Draw
Wake Forest
Alabama A
South Carolina
Tennessee A
McNeese State
Ga Tech A  
Auburn C
University of MS
Georgia A
NC State
Clemson A
Tulane A
Auburn A  
Non BCS Draw
UT Chattanooga A
UT Chattanooga B
Alabama B
Tennessee B
Ga Tech B
East TN State A
Kennesaw State
Macon State
East TN State B
Texas A&M - Texarkana
East Carolina Univ
Georgia B
Clemson B
College of Charleston A
College of Charleston B
Tulane B
Western Carolina
GA Southern A
Auburn B  
Teams: Each team should have at least 3 men and 3 women (maximum 10 players) available to play all weekend.
Individual Eligibility: Individuals must be enrolled for a minimum of ½ full-time for undergraduate students and 6 credit hours for graduate students. Also, students may not be a current varsity team member, and there is a limit of 1 former varsity player per team.
Rules: USTA rules will be followed throughout the tournament where applicable. Any variations will be discussed at the  mandatory Captain’s Meeting will be held on Saturday, February 25th at the Yarbrough Tennis Center in Auburn, AL at 8:15 a.m.
We will have 2 separate draws at this event. "A" teams from BCS football conferences must enter the draw with 5 automatic bids to the 2012 USTA Tennis on Campus National Championship on the line. The other draw is open to teams from schools that are in a non-BCS football conference and all "B" teams. This draw will have 1 bid to the 2012 USTA Tennis on Campus National Championship on the line. "A" teams from schools in a non-BCS football conference may choose to enter either draw.
Please contact Jeff Smith at 318.741.5957 (office), 318.573.5037 (cell) or smith@sta.usta.com for more information.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup