email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


Hingis, Reynolds capture World TeamTennis MVP Honors

July 31, 2012 12:29 PM
Martina Hingis was named Mylan World TeamTennis Female MVP for the second consecutive season.
Former world No. 1 Martina Hingis of the New York Sportimes and the Washington Kastles' Bobby Reynolds were named as WTT MVPs today for the World TeamTennis Pro League presented by GEICO.
NEW YORK -- Former world No. 1 Martina Hingis of the New York Sportimes and the Washington Kastles' Bobby Reynolds were named as WTT MVPs today for the World TeamTennis Pro League presented by GEICO.  
John-Patrick Smith of the Orange County Breakers and Kristyna Pliskova of the Philadelphia Freedoms were named as WTT Rookies of the Year, while Murphy Jensen of the Washington Kastles was named WTT Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.
Hingis finished first in women's singles this season with a .593 winning percentage. Hingis teamed with Ashley Harkleroad to finish as the top-ranked team in women's doubles at .571%. This is the 5th season for Hingis, who led the Sportimes to the 2005 WTT title. Hingis and her Sportimes teammates have advanced to the Eastern Conference Championship against the Washington Kastles on Saturday, Sept. 15, in Charleston, S.C. "I'm proud to win the WTT MVP award," said Hingis. "The 2012 season was both challenging and rewarding. I was part of a great team and much of my success was thanks to my teammates, coach, team owner and great New York Sportimes fans."
Reynolds followed up his 2010 Rookie of the Year award with an even better campaign in 2012 to earn the WTT Male MVP honors. Reynolds finished as the top ranked player in men's singles, with a 64-41 record for a .610 winning percentage. Reynolds teamed with the 2011 Male MVP Leander Paes to finish as the League's top-ranked doubles team with a .620 winning percentage. After Paes left to participate in the Olympic Games, Reynolds kept the Kastles on track to post their second consecutive undefeated regular season. "It's an honor to be named MVP," said Bobby Reynolds. "There have been so many great players who have been MVP over the years of World TeamTennis. The team has been behind me the whole year. I just hope we keep the streak alive."
John-Patrick Smith led the Breakers to their first playoff appearance since 2009 where they will be the top seed in the Western Conference Championship match in Charleston. Smith won 63 of 111 singles games to finish third in the League with a .568 winning percentage. Smith and his partner Travis Parrott are the third-ranked doubles team, with a .537 winning percentage.
"It's a great honor," said Smith. "I played well this season and had a great time with my teammates, I really enjoyed it.  I am very thankful for the opportunity to play here and the competition was great.  
The Philadelphia Freedoms fell short of the playoffs but Kristyna Pliskova's season was memorable. Kristyna and her identical twin sister Karolina finished as the third-ranked team in women's doubles and Kristyna was fourth in mixed doubles, partnering with Jordan Kerr. "It was a great season and I enjoyed playing with this team," said Pliskova. "Great matches and a great experience so I am very happy to get rookie of the year."
For the second year in a row, Murphy Jensen was named WTT Coach of the Year. He led the Kastles to their second consecutive undefeated regular season. The Kastles have won 30 matches in a row, the second longest win streak in pro team sports history. This is Jensen's fourth season coaching the Kastles. He led the franchise to the WTT title in 2009 and 2011, and the Kastles are the top seed in the 2012 Eastern Conference finals.
"It feels unreal to be named Coach of the Year for two years in a row," said Jensen. "It means the world to me because I got an opportunity this month to serve some extraordinary athletes. I'm a cheap imitation of all the people who have mentored me along the way, starting with my mom and dad."
The Kastles and the Breakers are both the top seeds in their respective conferences at the WTT Finals Weekend, Sept. 14-16. The Breakers will face the Sacramento Capitals on Friday, Sept. 14, at 6:30 p.m. EDT. The Kastles and Sportimes will renew their rivalry on Sept. 16 for the Eastern Conference title. The Conference Champions face off for the King Trophy on Sunday, Sept. 16 at 3:30 p.m. EDT.
For more information on the WTT Finals Weekend presented by GEICO, visit www.WTT.com/Finals or www.FamilyCircleTennisCenter.com/WTT.
2012 WTT Awards:
WTT Female MVP:
Martina Hingis (New York Sportimes)
Bobby Reynolds (Washington Kastles)
WTT Female Rookie:
Kristyna Pliskova (Philadelphia Freedoms)
WTT Male Rookie:
John-Patrick Smith (Orange County Breakers)
WTT Coach of the Year:
Murphy Jensen (Washington Kastles)
2012 WTT Finals Weekend presented by GEICO:
September 14-16 - Family Circle Tennis Center in Charleston, S.C.
Friday, Sept. 14 - 6:30 p.m. EDT:
Western Conference Championship - #1 Orange County Breakers (8-6) vs. #2 Sacramento Capitals (7-7)
Saturday, Sept. 15 - 6:30 p.m. EDT: Eastern Conference Championship -  #1 Washington Kastles (14-0) vs. #2 New York Sportimes (9-5)
Sunday, Sept. 16 - 3:30 p.m. EDT: WTT Finals - Eastern Conference Champion vs. Western Conference Champion



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup