email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


USTA Southern College Teams Compete For Section Championship

February 25, 2009 06:46 PM

28 College Club Teams Travel To Dothan, Ala. For Sectional Tournament
The 2009 USTA Southern Campus Championships will take place in Dothan, Ala. this weekend, Feb. 28- Mar. 1. The event features 28 club teams representing various colleges and universities throughout the Southeast. They will be battling at three sites in Dothan: Westgate Tennis Club, Azalea Swim & Tennis Club and Dothan Country Club.

“We are very excited about the Event returning to Dothan this year,” states Jeff Smith, Program Coordinator and Tournament Director. “We had a great time last year with the teams and with almost double team participation since 2008, the USTA Southern Campus Championships is proving to be one of the most competitive championships thus far.”

The tournament format starts with seven four-team draws with winners heading to an eight team draw determining the champion team. Matches are decided with the co-ed teams competing in men’s and women’s singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

The University of Georgia will look to repeat as champions as it takes on other teams participating in this year’s event including, University of Alabama, University of Arkansas, Auburn University, College of Charleston, Columbus State University, Clemson University, Duke University, East Carolina University, East Tennessee State University, Elon University, Emory University, Furman University, Georgia Southern University, Georgia Tech, Louisiana State University, Mississippi State University, University of North Carolina, North Carolina State University, University of South Carolina, University of Tennessee, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, UNC Charlotte, UNC Wilmington, Valdosta State University, Wake Forest University, Western Kentucky University.

The top four teams from Southern Championships will receive automatic bids to go on to compete at the 2009 USTA National Campus Championships in Surprise, AZ on April 16-18, 2009.

The USTA’s Tennis on Campus program is designed to provide college students with opportunities for team camaraderie, social networking, and rivaled competition through tennis. It offers co-ed team-based play, regional and national championship competition and helps students maintain active and healthy lifestyles through their college years. Additionally, the program is dedicated to growing the game of tennis on college campuses and offers various funding and grants to support club teams throughout the South.

For more information on club teams in the Tennis on Campus program, visit www.tennisoncampus.com.

For 2009 Results, Photos and Event Stories, Click Here.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup