email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40


UGA's Diaz Named 2008 USOC Coach Of The Year, To Host NCAA Championships

February 6, 2009 09:55 AM

Manuel Diaz of Athens, Ga., head coach of the University of Georgia’s men’s tennis team was named the 2008 USOC National Coach of the Year for Tennis, the USTA announced.

Diaz is currently in his 21st year as UGA's head men’s tennis coach, and has led the Bulldogs to four NCAA championships, including its second consecutive title in 2008. The team has reached the NCAA final on seven other occasions under Diaz. He has also led his team to 12 SEC regular season titles and seven SEC Tournament titles, and owns a career winning percentage of .828 (463–96) entering the 2009 season. Diaz is a three-time winner of the Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year award, and has coached 27 All-Americans, including four-time All-American John Isner, currently ranked No. 139 on the ATP World Tour.

The Bulldogs are ranked third nationally.

Each year, Olympic and Pan American sport organizations select their nominations for the National, Developmental, Volunteer and/or Paralympic Coaches of the Year as part of the USOC Coach of the Year Recognition Program. The program seeks to elevate the status of coaching as a profession and recognize the best coaches in the United States. Coaches were judged based on coaching performance, the ethics and character of the coach, the attitude of athletes, service to the sport, and volunteer work within the sport.

Georgia To Host 2010 AND 2012 NCAA Championships
The University of Georgia and the Dan Magill Tennis Complex will serve as the host site for the 2010 and 2012 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships.
The Dan Magill Tennis Complex has played host to the men's NCAA Championships 21 times and the women's NCAA Championships four times, most recently in 2007.
"This is a tremendous honor to once again have the opportunity to play host to this prestigious event," said Diaz."This is a credit to the outstanding support we have from our athletic department and staff, the university, the community and all the tennis fans who flock to Athens for the NCAAs. We have the very best facility in college tennis, and the environment here is a very unique experience for the student-athletes. We're glad to see it coming back."
The 2010 event (May 20-31) will mark the fifth consecutive year that both the men's and women's titles will be contested in the same location. In 2006, Stanford played host while Georgia followed in 2007 and Tulsa in 2008.

The 2009 NCAA Tennis Championships will be at Texas A&M in May. The 2011 NCAA Championships will be at Stanford. Then, the 2012 NCAA Championships return to Athens May 17-28.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup