email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Schools See Success for Men’s and Women’s Teams

May 20, 2008 10:08 AM

The 2008 Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division II National Championships recently took place at the Memorial Park Tennis Center in Houston, with Armstrong Atlantic State competing to take home the trophy. The NAIA National Championships took place in Mobile, where Auburn-Montgomery looked to claim the title.

The Armstrong Atlantic State women’s tennis team was successful in their effort to win a national championship. The Pirates were able to capture their fourth NCAA Division II title by defeating Lynn University 5-2. The women’s team also won the championship in 1995, 1996 and 2005. On the heels of their success, the Armstrong Atlantic State men’s team also took the court looking to win a national championship. Undefeated on the season and ranked first in the nation, the Pirates faced fifth ranked Barry in the title match. With a 5-0 victory, Armstrong Atlantic State owned both Division II championships. This was the men’s team's first ever national championship.

The 2008 NAIA Tennis National Championships were a similar story with Auburn-Montgomery in action on both the men’s and women’s side. The Lady Senators came into the championship match undefeated and faced Fresno Pacific, able to come out with a 5-1 victory. This was their fifth straight national championship, with each of the last three coming over Fresno Pacific. The men’s team of Auburn-Montgomery was also vying for a national championship, and like the women it was against Fresno Pacific. After getting out to a quick start Auburn-Montgomery had an early lead, but Fresno Pacific was able to climb back into the match. In the end it was Auburn-Montgomery picking up their third straight NAIA Championship. The Senators have won five out of the last seven titles.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup