email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Duke's Jonathan Stokke Named USTA Sportsmanship Award Winner

February 20, 2006 11:51 AM
Jonathan Stokke
Duke University senior Jonathan Stokke received the United States Tennis Association (USTA) Sportsmanship Award Monday at the USTA-ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships.

Stokke, a native of Chapel Hill, N.C., was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the tournament and throughout his career.

Stokke, who is No. 9 in doubles and No. 20 in singles in the latest the Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings, helped Duke to the semifinals this week in Seattle. On Saturday the Blue Devils upset No. 1 Florida in the quarterfinals.

The USTA-ITA National Team Indoor Championships conclude today. Georgia is facing Pepperdine in a noon PT final.

Past USTA Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2006 - Jonathan Stokke, Duke
2005 - Hamid Mirzadeh, Florida
2004 - Chris Lam, UCLA
2003 - Rajeev Ram, Illinois
2002 - David Martin, Stanford
2001 - Jimmy Haney, TCU
2000 - Ramsey Smith, Duke
1999 - Ryan Wolters, Stanford
1998 - Thomas Blake, Harvard
1997 - Eddie Jacques, Georgia
1996 - Jeff Salzenstein, Stanford
1995 - Paul Goldstein, Stanford
1994 - Michael Hopkinson, Kentucky
1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1992 - Jason Yee, Stanford




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup