NCAA Division I Tennis Championship Fields Announced; Illinois men and Stanford women are No. 1 seeds

May 1, 2003 12:55 PM

The tournament fields for the 2003 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships were announced by the NCAA on ESPNews Wednesday. Two-time defending champ Stanford is the top seed in the women's draw and unbeaten Illinois is the No. 1 men's seed.

The NCAA Championships open May 9-11 with first and second round matches at campus sites across the country. After the first two rounds of competition, the women's final 16 takes place May 15-18 in Gainesville, Fla., and the men's final 16 takes place May 17-20 in Athens, Ga. This year's NCAA Men's Championships will be the 119th, dating back to 1883, making it this country's oldest organized collegiate championship. This year's championships also mark the 25th anniversary of John McEnroe leading Stanford to the NCAA team title and winning the singles title as a freshman in 1978.

The Stanford (20-1) women, also ranked No. 1 in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Rankings, have lost just two matches over the past three seasons and carry an 18-match win streak into their opening round match at home against Louisiana-Monroe on May 9. The Cardinal has won a record 12 NCAA titles. Last year's NCAA finalist Florida is the No. 2 seed, followed by Duke, California and Southern California.

The Illinois (26-0) men are the first men's team to enter the NCAAs unbeaten since Stanford in 1998. The Fighting Illini, also No. 1 in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Rankings, will host Butler on May 10 in first round play. Following Illinois in seeding are Baylor, Florida, California and Stanford. Stanford has won a record 17 NCAA titles. Southern California, which was also selected today, is the defending NCAA champ.

The selection and seeding is administered by the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Committees. The selections for the NCAA singles and doubles championships will be available on the NCAA web site, at 5 p.m. CT on Thursday.

NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships
First Round, May 10
(top 16 seeds in parenthesis)

at Champaign, Ill.
(1) Illinois vs. Butler
Clemson vs. Ball State

at Waco, Texas
(2) Baylor vs. Texas-Arlington
TCU vs. South Florida

at Gainesville, Fla.
(3) Florida vs. Central Florida
Miami (Fla.) vs. Florida State

at Berkeley, Calif.
(4) California vs. Sacramento State
Arizona vs. Boise State

at Stanford, Calif.
(5) Stanford vs. Oral Roberts
Arizona State vs. Fresno State

at Los Angeles
(6) UCLA vs. Wichita State
Southern California vs. UC Santa Barbara

at Nashville, Tenn.
(7) Vanderbilt vs.Tennessee Tech
Pepperdine vs. Mississippi State

at Durham, N.C.
(8) Duke vs. High Point
Wake Forest vs. Brown

at Oxford, Miss.
(9) Mississippi vs. College of Charleston
Auburn vs. Georgia Tech

at College Station, Texas
(10) Texas A&M vs. Maryland-Baltimore Co.
Georgia vs. SMU

at Minneapolis, Minn.
(11) Minnesota vs. Binghamton
Oklahoma State vs. North Carolina

at New Orleans
(12) Tulane vs. Southern
LSU vs. South Alabama

at Lexington, Ky.
(13) Kentucky vs. Hampton
Ohio State vs. Arkansas

at Austin, Texas
(14) Texas vs. St. Bonaventure
South Carolina vs. Rice

at Cambridge, Mass.
(15) Alabama vs. Marist
Va. Commonwealth vs. Harvard

at San Diego
(16) Washington vs. American
San Diego State vs. San Diego

NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships
First Round, May 19-10
(top 16 seeds in parenthesis)

at Stanford, Calif.
(1) Stanford vs. UL-Monroe
Michigan vs. Colorado

at Gainesville, Fla.
(2) Florida vs. Florida Atlantic
Tulane vs. Texas

at Durham, N.C.
(3) Duke vs. Winthrop
South Carolina vs. Pennsylvania

at College Station, Texas
(4) California vs. Army
Texas A&M vs. LSU

at Los Angeles, Calif.
(5) Southern California vs. Sacramento State
Georgia Tech vs. Cal Poly

at Seattle, Wash.
(6) Washington vs. Southern
UNLV vs. Illinois

at Knoxville, Tenn.
(7) Tennessee vs. Murray State
Ohio State vs. Virginia

at Norman, Okla.
(8) Georgia vs. Maryland-Baltimore Co.
Alabama vs. Oklahoma

at Lexington, Ky.
(9) Kentucky vs. Hampton
Miami (Fla.) vs. Purdue

at Nashville, Tenn.
(10) Vanderbilt vs. Boston
Missouri vs. Notre Dame

at Los Angeles, Calif.
(11) UCLA vs. IUPUI
Pepperdine vs. Minnesota

at Evanston, Ill.
(12) Va. Commonwealth vs. Illinois State
Kansas State vs. Northwestern

at Chapell Hill, N.C.
(13) North Carolina vs. Col. of Charleston
Clemson vs. Baylor

at Williamsburg, Va.
(14) William & Mary vs. Temple
Marshall vs. South Alabama

at Tempe, Ariz.
(15) Arizona State vs. Illinois-Chicago
San Diego State vs. Fresno State

at Cambridge, Mass.
(16) Arizona vs. Niagara
Oklahoma State vs. Harvard

Note: NCAA Committee seeds in various "groupings" after Nos. 1-16