email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Rex Maynard Elected USTA Southern President

January 22, 2009 03:27 PM
Rex Maynard
Rex Maynard of Belton, S.C. has been elected USTA Southern Board of Directors President and CEO for the 2009-2010 term. Maynard had served as USTA Southern Board of Directors Executive Vice President.

Elected to the same term as USTA Southern Board of Directors Executive Vice President Mike McNulty of Lake Charles, La., He had been serving as Vice President.

USTA Southern Nominating Committee presented a slate of candidtes for the 2009-2010 that was approved by 2009 USTA Southern Annual Meeting in Atlanta on January 17.

Maynard heads the largest of the USTA's 17 Sections, representing 25 percent of the national membership in nine states.

Maynard has served as a volunteer at the local, state, sectional and national levels. He is currently President of the Belton Tennis Association and has served as Tournament Director of the Wachovia Palmetto Championships (South Carolina's junior qualifying tournament held in Belton each June) since 1980. He was President of USTA South Carolina from 1994 to 1995. Maynard is a former Chairman and current Treasurer of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation. In 1982 he helped establish the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame and was inducted into the hall in 2001. He is a former recipient of the Lucy Garvin Volunteer of the Year Award, the state's highest volunteer honor.

Maynard has served on a number of committees for USTA Southern and chaired three committees: Foundation, Publications and Junior Ranking. He was elected a Delegate-at-Large in 1999 and became a Vice President and member of the Executive Committee in 2001. He continued to serve as a Vice President until he was elected Executive Vice President in 2007.

Mike McNulty

Maynard has served on a number of national committees, including Publications, Junior Ranking and Community Development. Currently he is a member of the USTA Youth Competition and Training Committee.

McNulty is currently Vice President of the USTA Constitution and Rules Committee. He has served as President of USTA Louisiana, USTA Southern Vice President and Delegate-at-Large, as well as Chairman of the USTA Southern Constitution and Rules Committee. Presented USTA Louisiana’s President’s Award, he was also named “One of the Best Lawyers in America.” After his family was honored as the USTA Louisiana Family of the Year, they were given a similar award by USTA Southern – the Mickey McNulty Family of the Year Award – which was named for McNulty's father, a former Sectional vice president.

Judy Utley

USTA Southern Board of Directors Immediate Past President Judy Utley was elected USTA Delegate. Utley, of Greensboro, N.C. She has been involved in numerous levels of tennis over the past 30 years. She served as Co-President of the Greensboro Tennis Association, Co-Commissioner of the Gate City Tennis League and Co-Director of the Carlton Harris Jr. Tennis League. She was also President of USTA North Carolina from 1999 to 2001 and served on the USTA North Carolina Strategic Planning Committee.

Elected as USTA Southern Vice Presidents were Eddie Gonzalez of Atlanta, Ga., Derek White of Savannah, Ga., and Paula Hale of Winterville, N.C.

Eddie Gonzalez

Gonzalez held the position of USTA Southern Vice President. He served as USTA Southern Marketing Committee Chairman, was a member of the USTA Membership Committee, Marketing Committee, USTA.com Subcommittee and Cardio Tennis Subcommittee, and also served as USTA Member Appreciation Day Vice Chairman. Formerly, he chaired the Southern Tennis Patron Foundation Fundraising Committee and Southern Intersectional Team Committee and was a member of the Southern Nominating and USTA Adult Senior Competition committees. Gonzalez held the post of USTA Southern Director of Marketing from 1990 to 1998.

Derek White

White had recently served as USTA Southern Secretary. White is a former President of the Macon Tennis Association and USTA Southern Delegate-at-Large. He has served as the Chairman of the USTA Southern Grievance Committee, as a member of the USTA Constitution and Rules Committee, a member of USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations and as USTA Southern’s representative for the USTA Operations Council.

Hale servedas Vice Chair of the USTA National Community Tennis Association Committee and as a Trustee of the Southern Patrons Foundation. She is a past President of USTA North Carolina and the North Carolina Tennis Foundation and former chair of the USTA Southern State President Committee. She was honored in 2005 with USTA Southern's Jacobs Bowl Award.

John Liles of Shreveport, La., was elected Treasurer. He chaired the Section’s Adult/Senior Recreation Programs and the Public Relations Committee’s Awards Subcommittee. A member of the USTA Awards Committee, Secretary/Treasurer of Southern Tennis Patron Foundation and Treasurer of the Northwest Louisiana Community Tennis Association, Liles is also certified as a Sectional referee.

James (Bud) Spencer of Mt. Pleasant, S.C., was elected Secretary. Spencer served as USTA South Carolina President and Chairman of the Board in 2004 and 2005. He has been a member of the USTA Southern Board of Directors since 2000 and has been active for over 15 years from the local to the national levels. He is a past Chairman of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation, a charitable association that supports the sport of tennis in the state.

Four volunteers were elected as USTA Southern Delegate-at-Large. They are Andy Andrews of Raleigh, N.C., Donna Bailey of Macon, Ga., Randy Jackson of Fort Smith, Ark., and Susan Habeeb of Louisville, Ky.

USTA Southern Section Nominating Committee positions voted upon with Utley (as chair), Sheila Evans of Atlanta, Jeff Gray of Mobile, Ala., Mike Hurley of Old Hickory, Tenn., and Huey Townsend of Belzoni, Miss. being elected.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup