email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Twenty-Two Southern Colleges Sending Teams to Battle for Club Team Title

February 28, 2008 03:16 PM

Atlanta, GA – February 28, 2008 – The USTA Southern Section is hosting the USTA Southern Campus Championships Saturday, March 1st-2nd at the Westgate Tennis Center in Dothan, AL. Club teams representing twenty-two universities and colleges throughout the Southeast are scheduled to compete in the tournament.

The playing format will be World Team Tennis format with co-ed teams competing in Men’s and Women’s singles, doubles and mixed doubles matches. The winner is determined by the most games won at the end of play on Sunday.

The USTA Team Tennis on College Campus program was created to increase the use of campus facilities while providing students the opportunity to socialize and exercise. Additionally, the program is dedicated to growing the game of tennis on college campuses and offers various funding and grants to support club teams in the South.

“We are very much looking forward to an exciting event,” said Jeff Smith, Program Coordinator and Tournament Director. “With the growing participation of club team tennis among universities in the South, this USTA Southern Campus Championships is proving to be the most competitive championships thus far.”

Georgia Tech University will return to defend their 2007 Southern crown as they face competition from more than twenty-three teams, including last year’s finalist, the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga. Other teams vying for the title include: Clemson, UNC-Wilmington, University of Alabama, Western Kentucky, Georgia Southern, Elon University, Valdosta State University, UNC-Charlotte, Louisiana State University, North Carolina State, University of South Carolina, University of North Carolina, East Carolina, University of Arkansas, Georgia, Auburn, Ole Miss, UNC-Charlotte, Tennessee and UNC Greensboro.

The Southern Champions will go on to compete at the 2008 USTA Campus Championships scheduled for April 17-19, 2008 in Cary, NC.

For more information on club teams in the Tennis on Campus program, click here.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup