email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Southern Award Winners to be Honored in January

December 27, 2006 11:12 AM

The USTA Southern Section officially announced who will be receiving the following awards to be presented at the 2007 USTA Southern Section Annual Meeting:

Adult Tournament of the Year – 75th Anniversary of the City of Asheville Open Tennis Championships, Asheville, NC
Charity Tennis Event of the Year – Charity Challenge of Champions, Rogers, AR
DeWitt Redgrave III Junior Achievement Awards – William Guzick, Greer, SC and Reka Zsilinszka, Fayetteville, NC
Educational Merit Award – Jason Zoladz, Hillsborough, NC
Gerrie Rothwell Award – Dodie Hanchett, Spartanburg, SC
Bill Ozaki Junior Sportsmanship Award – Houston Barrick, Brentwood, TN
Jr. Team Tennis Organizer of the Year- Carla O’Connor, Charlotte, NC
Junior Tournament of the Year – Peach State Junior Tennis Classic, Norcross, GA
Local League Coordinator of the Year – Kyle Christensen, Hixson, TN
Marc Kaplan Media Excellence Award – Marc Kaplan, USTA Southern Section, Norcross, GA
Member Organization of the Year – USTA Atlanta, Norcross, GA
Mickey McNulty Family of the Year – The Roy and Colleen Barth Family, Charleston, SC
NJTL Chapter of the Year – MACH Academy, Augusta, GA
Slew Hester Male and Female Players of the Year – Richard Lawson, Trussville, AL and Jeanette Weiland, Charleston, SC
Southern Tennis Professional of the Year – Brett Schwartz, New Orleans, LA
Special Tennis Event of the Year – Love that Art, Paducah, KY
Team Tennis Event / Program of the Year -2006 Baton Rouge St. Jude Classic, Baton Rouge, LA
Tennis Official of the Year – Dale Williamson, Forest, MS
Wheelchair Player of the Year – Harlon Matthews, Covington, GA
Wheelchair Tournament of the Year – Music City Classic, Nashville, TN

Founded in 1881, the United States Tennis Association (USTA) is the national governing body for the sport of tennis in this country. In addition to owning the US Open and selecting members of the Davis Cup, Fed Cup, Olympic and Paralympic teams, the USTA administers a variety of programs nationwide for players of all ages and ability levels and, as a not-for-profit organization, the association invests 100% of its proceeds to promote and develop the growth of tennis. It is divided into 17 sections, of which the USTA Southern Section is the largest. The 168,000 USTA members living in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee make up the USTA Southern Section, and account for approximately 25% of the total USTA membership. A professional staff housed in Norcross, GA carries out the USTA Southern Section’s daily operations, but policy is formed and much of the organization’s work is executed via a Board and committee structure of over 200 volunteers. For more information about the types of programs and services offered by the USTA Southern Section visit www.southerntennis.com.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup