email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Auburn University - Montgomery Takes Home Men's and Women's NAIA National Championships

May 23, 2006 02:54 PM

The Auburn University - Montgomery Men's and Women's tennis teams captured NAIA National Championships at the Mobile Tennis Center in Mobile, AL this past week. It was the sixth national championship for the men's team and the seventh for the women's team in program history.

The second-seeded Auburn University - Montgomery men defeated top-seeded Azusa Pacific University (CA), 5-0, for the title. AUM enjoyed a 3-0 lead after the doubles round and clinched the championship by sweeping the singles. In the singles matches, third-seed Victor Sanakai Papi defeated Azusa Pacific’s David Goodman 6-2, 6-3 and sixth-seed Alex Petropolous beat Art Fatkiev 6-2, 6-1.

AUM’s head coach Anuk Christiansz also received the NAIA Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year award for leading the team to a 24-1 season record.

The AUM women headed into the tournament as the top seed and defeated second-seeded Fresno Pacific University (CA), 5-1.

The Senator women battled to take all three doubles matches. A 9-7 win by AUM’s Nadia Lysak and Aina Rafolomantisiatosika over Fresno Pacific’s Jelena Pandzic and Amandine Ferot at the no. 1 spot and another doubles win at no. 2 by Khady Berthe and Natalie Sienkob inched them closer to the title. Although Pandzic defeated Rafolomantisiatosika, 6-1, 6-1, at the no.1 singles spot, Lysak and Rachel Dunlavy walked away with singles victories, sealing AUM's third consecutive NAIA national championship.

Boasting a 31-1 record, women’s head coach Scott Kidd was named the NAIA Women's Tennis National Coach of the Year.

Men’s Team Scores

#1 - Daniel Plasa (AUM) vs. Boris Bakalov (APU), 7-6, 2-0
#2 - Anton Brykalin (AUM) vs. Patrick Kur (APU), 6-4, 0-1
#3 - Victor Sanakai Papi (AUM) def. David Goodman (APU), 6-2, 6-3
#4 - Joel Kusnierz (AUM) vs. Tom Jelsma (APU), 6-3, 5-2 DNF
#5 - Nikola Miskovic (AUM) vs. Cole Billings (APU), 3-6, 2-3
#6 - Alex Petropoulis (AUM) def. Art Fatkiev (APU), 6-2, 6-1

#1 - Victor Sanakaipapi/Nikola Miskovic (AUM) def. Patrick Kur/Art Fafkeiv (APU), 8-4
#2 - Daniel Plasa/Joel Kusnierz (AUM) def. Boris Bakalov/Tom Jelsma (APU), 8-5
#3 - Anton Brykalin/Tim Mudrick (AUM) def. David Goodman/Cole Billings (APU), 9-8 (8)

Women’s Team Scores

#1 - Jelena Pandzic (FPU) def. Aina Rafolomanotsiatoseka (AUM), 6-1, 6-1
#2 - Khady Berthe (AUM) vs. Angie Minova (FPU), 6-2, 4-3 DNF
#3 - Natalie Sienkob (AUM) vs. Anna Karavayeva (FPU), 7-6 (5), 3-0 DNF
#4 - Nadia Lysak (AUM) def. Megan Hanner (FPU), 6-4, 6-2
#5 - Yudeshnee Pillay (AUM) vs. Amandine Ferot (FPU), 6-4, 3-0 DNF
#6 - Rachel Dunlavy (AUM) def. Janelle Jackson (FPU), 6-1, 6-1

#1 - Nadia Lysak/Aina Rafolomantsiatosika (AUM) def. Jelena Pandzic/Amandine Ferot (FPU), 9-7
#2 - Khady Berthe/Natalie Sienkob (AUM) def. Angie Minova/Anna Karavayeva (FPU), 8-4
#3 - Yudeshree Pillay/Rachel Donlavy (AUM) def. Megan Hanner/Meghan Scott (FPU), 8-6




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup