email_us_left_rail_box_85x40 staff_directory_left_rail_box_85x40
contact_us_left_rail_box_85x40 top_jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
join_jr_team_left_rail_box_85x40 join_adult_team_left_rail_box_85x40
ntrp_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 age_level_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40
jr_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40 jr_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
find_jtt_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_rankings_left_rail_box_85x40
usta_league_left_rail_box_85x40 adult_tournaments_left_rail_box_85x40

Strong Field at Upcoming USTA Men's Challenger in Knoxville, TN

November 4, 2002 11:07 AM

Visit www.atptour.com for news and scores live from this event!

The University of Tennessee USTA Men's Challenger will be held on campus at the Goodfriend Tennis Center, November 11-17.This USTA Circuit event boasts a $50,000 purse, the highest level of a non-ATP event in the United States. It also promises a strong field including American tour veterans Michael Chang, Vince Spadea and Justin Gimelstob.

In addition, Robby Ginepri of Marietta, GA and Brian Vahaly, of Atlanta, GA, two rising young stars from the USTA Southern Section, are scheduled to compete. Ginepri, currently ranked 119 in the world, won two USTA Challenger events earlier in the year. He was runner-up to Andy Roddick at the 2000 US Open boys' singles championship and also faced Roddick in the first round of the 2000 USTA Knoxville Challenger.

Brian Vahaly, ranked 146 in the world, has won three Challenger event thus far in 2002. One of his highlights from this year was his tough four-set loss to American James Blake in the opening round of the US Open.

Only in its third year, University of Tennessee USTA Men's Challenger was won by James Blake in 2001 and Cristiano Carratti in 2000.

The anticipated field is as follows:
Hugo Armando (USA)
Juan Balcella (ESP)
Michael Chang (USA)
Mariano Delfino (ARG)
Scott Draper (USA)
Mardy Fish (USA)
Justin Gimelstob (USA)
Robby Ginepri (USA)
Robert Kendrick (USA)
Alex Kim (USA)
Peter Luczak (AUS)
Cecil Mamitt (USA)
Ricardo Mello (BRA)
Jeff Morrison (USA)
Mariano Puerta (ARG)
Mario Radic (CRO)
Sergio Roitman (ARG)
Vincent Spadea (USA)
Gabriel Trifu (ROM)
Brian Vahaly (USA)
Martin Verkerk (NED)
Louis Vosloo (RSA)

For more information on this event please contact Tim Curry or Chris Mahony.




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup